





2022 ACEC-IA + Iowa DOT + FHWA Iowa Transportation Conference

Embassy Suites | Des Moines, Iowa

September 28-29, 2022 | Registration opens at 8:00 am each day
Wednesday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Social to follow) | Thursday 8:50 am - 12:00 pm

\$195

Attend the largest transportation conference in Iowa designed to explore innovations in transportation design and construction. Attendees will also learn future work projections and challenges facing the Iowa DOT and the FHWA.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

- » Key Transportation Professionals
- » Designers, project managers, consultants, and planners in Iowa who work in the transportation area are encouraged to take advantage of this opportunity.

REGISTRATION

Please register online to save \$20 at www.cec-iowa.org (and receive an automated invoice for your records)

» ACEC-lowa, Iowa DOT, or FHWA Members

- (includes online registration discount)
- » Participant not registering online\$20 (additional data entry fee, must note sessions you plan to attend)
- » State and Federal employees attending partial segments of the program (w/o attending lunch or social) will be charged a \$45 amenity fee.

CONFERENCE MATERIALS BY:





REGISTRANT INFORMATION

Should you need to mail, fax, or email your registration, fill out the form below, add the \$20 data entry fee, and submit payment (payable to ACEC-lowa) by September 21, 2022.

Name
-irm
Address
City
State Zip
Phone / Fax

PAYMENT

Enclosed is a check payable to ACEC—lowa for \$_____ Substitutions will be accepted at any time.

- » Return no later than September 21, 2022. Should you need to cancel on or before September 21, your registration fee will be returned less a \$15 administrative fee.
- » No refunds after September 21, 2022.

REGISTRATION MAILING ADDRESS

American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa

1080 Jordan Creek Parkway, Suite 106C West Des Moines, IA 50266

Phone 515.284.7055 | **Fax** 515.284.7301

Email info@cec-iowa.org







2022 Conference Planning Committee

Ryan Simbro - HR Green, Inc. Greg Cabalka - Kirkham Michael Lili Yang - Iowa DOT Mark Van Dyke - Iowa DOT Jacqui DiGiacinto - Iowa DOT Michael Cain - FHWA Iowa

Conference Schedule | Wednesday

	8:00 – 8:30 am REGISTRATION			
·	8:30 - 8:40 am 8:40 - 9:00 am 9:00 - 9:20 am	Conference Planning Committee – Ryan Simbro ACEC Iowa – David Dougherty FHWA Iowa Division – Timothy Marshall		
	9:25 – 10:05 am	CYCLONE TRACK	HAWKEYE TRACK	
		Madison Flex Lane: Wisconsin's First Dynamic Part-Time Shoulder Use Luke Holman - Strand	Hybrid Environmental Assessment: A New Approach Angie Bersaw - Bolton & Menk and Kent Ahrenholtz - Kaskaskia	
	10:05 – 10:20 am BREAK			
	10:20 – 11:00 am	US 30 Planning and Environmental Linkages (PEL) Study Gary Harris - Iowa DOT and Dan Smith - HR Green	Iowa Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan Stuart Anderson - Iowa DOT and Mark Pohlmann - HDR	
	11:05- 11:45 am	Highway 43 Multimodal Study and Multi- Roundabout Corridor Reconstruction in Winona, MN Kevin Hoglund - Stantec	The Art of Creating and Engaging a Community Around Transportation Projects Tracy Morse - Images Inc and Kristina Kuehling - Images Inc	
	11:45 – 12:45 pm LUNCH			
	12:45 – 1:25 pm	Iowa DOT Design Bureau Update – <i>Mike</i> <i>Kennerly – Iowa DOT</i>	Iowa DOT Bridges & Structures Bureau Update <i>Mike Nop - Iowa DOT</i>	
	1:30 – 2:10 pm	I-35/I-80/I-235 Northeast Mixmaster - System Interchange Transformation Tony Gustafson - Iowa DOT and Chris Malmberg - HDR	Lateral Slide at IA92 over Muchakinock Creek in Mahaska County Jesse Peterson - Iowa DOT and Stan Stallsmith - HR Green	
	2:10 – 2:40 pm BRE	AK		
	2:40 – 3:00 pm	Reduced Conflict Intersections: A Nebraska Case Study Mark Lutjeharms - JEO	Transportation Systems Management & Operations (TSMO) Update Tim Simodynes - Iowa DOT	
	3:05 – 3:45 pm	Smart(ER) Mobility Principles in Practice Becca Wagner - Stantec	Ingersoll Streetscape - Complete Street Implementation Scott Almeida - Kirkham Michael	
	3:50 – 4:30 pm	5-Year Program Overview and Update Charlie Purcell - Iowa DOT		
	4:30 – 6:00 pm SOCIAL			







2022 Conference Planning Committee

Ryan Simbro - HR Green, Inc. Greg Cabalka - Kirkham Michael Lili Yang - Iowa DOT Mark Van Dyke - Iowa DOT Jacqui DiGiacinto - Iowa DOT Michael Cain - FHWA Iowa

Conference Schedule | Thursday

8:00 – 8:50 am REGISTRATION			
8:50 - 9:00 am 8:50 - 9:30 am	Conference Planning Committee - Ryan Simbro lowa DOT - Scott Marler		
9:35 – 10:15 am	CYCLONE TRACK	HAWKEYE TRACK	
	Bridge Replacement Sugar Creek Bridges, I-80 Cedar County Stan Stallsmith - HR Green and Dan Smith - HR Green	S 30 Missouri Valley Bypass - Elevating Beyond Expectations Wes Mayberry - Iowa DOT and Chris Malmberg - HDR	
10:15 - 10:30 am BREAK			
10:30 – 11:10 am	Wrong Way Driver (WWD) Efforts Willy Sorenson - Iowa DOT	Waukee - Five-Way Stop Improvements / Warrior Lane Roundabout Rudy Koester - City of Waukee and Nathan Hardisty - Shive Hattery	
11:20- 11:40 am	1:20 – 11:40 am Consultant Evaluations Deanna Maifield - Iowa DOT		
11:40- 12:00 am	Forecast and Future Trends Jacqui DiGiacinto - Iowa DOT		
12:00 pm ADJOURI	V		

Notes: