Engineering Excellence Awards

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa (ACEC/Iowa) Engineering Excellence Awards competition recognizes engineering firms for projects that demonstrate an exceptional degree of innovation, complexity, achievement, and value.  A distinguished panel of 3 judges possessing a vast array of built environment and technical expertise will evaluate and rank the submissions.  The panel will select the top award winners.  Projects from across the state of Iowa are rated on the basis of the following:

  • Uniqueness &/or Innovative Application of New or Existing Techniques: 20%
  • Future Value to the Engineering Profession & Perception by the Public: 20%
  • Social, Economic, and Sustainable Development Considerations: 20%
  • Complexity: 20%
  • Successful Fulfillment of Client/Owner Needs: 20%

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Iowa (ACEC/Iowa) will be presenting 2025 Engineering Excellence Awards to engineering firms and their clients at the Iowa Engineering Conference.

Engineering Excellence Awards 2025 Call to Excellence Entries

DEADLINE for the Intent to Enter - October 4, 2024

The overall goal of the annual Engineering Excellence Awards program remains the same: to recognize outstanding engineering achievements in Iowa and to provide an opportunity for recognition for your firm, your employees and you clients.  Entries will compete in five project categories. To correlate with ACEC national competition requirements, the percentages under Criteria for Judging match those of the ACEC of Iowa.

2025 Awards to be Presented 

The following awards will be presented:

1. A single Grand Conceptor Award will be presented to the one project that stands out above all the other entries, regardless of project category.

2. A Grand Place Award will be presented to at least one project in all five categories.

3. An Honor Award will be presented to at least one project in all five categories.

4. Grand Place Award Winners will receive a short project video feature to be used for marketing. 

Both the consulting engineering firm and their owner/client will receive awards. Plaques for the Grand Conceptor Award, Grand Place Awards and Honor Awards will be presented at the ACEC/Iowa Awards Banquet on May, 2025.

Click Here to download complete "Call to Excellence" brochure

Click Here for "Intent to Enter" 

Online Application Portal - Coming in October 2024


Entry Deadlines

Submit the Intent to Enter by- October 4, 2024

Online Submission Portal Open - October 7, 2024

 Submit Entry Form Online and Fee Deadline- October 25, 2024

 Notification of ACEC/Iowa Winners by December 6, 2024

 ACEC national competition entry deadline- January 8, 2025

ACEC/Iowa Annual Meeting Awards Banquet- May 14, 2025 (Tentative)

ACEC Awards Gala, Washington, DC- May 20, 2025



Note: Firms are responsible for inviting client representatives to the Banquet, and for paying their meal costs. The Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board has advised ACEC/Iowa this type expenditure is allowed under Iowa law for public officials attending an award ceremony. Public officials attending the award ceremony will be given an opportunity to comment on the project.